KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 8 February 2013.

PRESENT: Mr D L Brazier (Chairman), Ms S J Carey, Mr I S Chittenden (Substitute) (Substitute for Mr D S Daley), Mrs V J Dagger and Mr R Tolputt

OFFICERS: Mr N Morgan (School Governance Officer) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

1. Minutes - 14 December 2012 (*Item A3*)

- (1) In respect of the Appendix to the Minutes, the Governor Support Officer undertook to establish whether Mrs J Rumley had been appointed to the Governing Body of Castle Hill Community Primary School or whether her appointment was due to be considered on this occasion.
- (2) RESOLVED that subject to (1) above, the Minutes of the meeting held on 14 December 2012 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

2. LEA Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent (Item B1)

- (1) The Panel agreed to re-appoint Mrs H Beaumont to the Governing Body of Whitstable and Seasalter Endowed CE Junior School in the light of the strong letter of support from the Chairman of Governors and because her attendance was only very marginally below the threshold.
- (2) The Panel agreed to re-appoint Mr J Perry to the Governing Body of Bean Primary School owing to the supporting letter from the Chairman of Governors which explained the health issues that had his low attendance.
- (3) The Panel agreed to re-appoint Mrs D Braddon to the Governing Body of Thamesview School in the light of the supportive letter from the Chair of Governors which set out her contributions to the work of the School.
- (4) The Panel agreed to re-appoint Mrs R Calvocoressi to the Governing Body of Edenbridge Primary School in the light of the strong letter of support from the Chairman of Governors and because her attendance was only very marginally below the threshold.
- (5) RESOLVED that the appointments of Authority Governors to Primary, Secondary, Special Schools, Pupil Referral Units, the Pool of Additional Governors, and the nominations to non-Authority Academies be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.



APPENDIX (Paragraph 2 of the Minutes refers)

1. ASHFORD

SchoolAppointeeDowns View Infant SchoolMrs F MooreGreat Chart Primary SchoolMr D BeerenssonGreat Chart Primary SchoolMrs C Dottin-John

2. CANTERBURY

School **Appointee** Barham CE Primary School Mr P Sopp Mr P Dawson Littlebourne CE Primary School St John's CE Primary School Mrs E Smilev The Community College, Whitstable Mr A Pomeroy Whitstable & Seasalter Endowed CE Junior School Mrs H Beaumont Whitstable Junior School Miss S Jacobs Wincheap Foundation Primary School Mr A Hollands

3. DARTFORD

SchoolAppointeeBean Primary SchoolMr J PerryMaypole Primary SchoolMr R GarrettThe Brent Primary SchoolMr P HarperThe Brent Primary SchoolMr J Jarvis

4. DOVER

SchoolAppointeeDeal Parochial CE Primary SchoolMr D MurphyDover Grammar School for GirlsRev J PhilpottKingsdown and Ringwould CEP SchoolMr M WellsPreston Primary SchoolMr B DoggettSandown SchoolMrs F LashmarSt Joseph's Catholic Primary School, AyleshamMr S C Manion

5. GRAVESHAM

School **Appointee** Northfleet School for Girls Mr H Johnson Painters Ash Primary School Mr A Russell Raynehurst Community Primary School Mrs J Craig Riverview Junior School Mrs J Redman **Shears Green Junior School** Mr B Rogers St Joseph's Catholic Primary School, Northfleet Mrs R Rogers **Thamesview School** Mr L Berry

6. MAIDSTONE

School

Headcorn Primary School Lenham Primary School Lenham Primary School Park Way Primary School Platts Heath Primary School Sandling Primary School St Paul's Infant School Swadelands School Ulcombe CE Primary School **Appointee**

Mrs L Selby Mr D Smith Mr C Pink Mrs B Dunford Mr R Gare Mrs N Pennell Mrs J Baughan Mr D Johnson Mrs J Braggs

7. SEVENOAKS

School

Crockham Hill CE Primary School Edenbridge Primary School

Appointee

Mr S Hurst Mrs R Calvocoressi

8. SHEPWAY

School

Castle Hill Community Primary School Folkestone St Mary's CE Primary School Harcourt Primary School St Augustine's Catholic Primary School **Appointee**

Mrs J Rumley Mrs S Wallace Mr A Dunning Mr M Cooper

9. SWALE

School

Queenborough School and Nursery

Appointee

Mr C Baseden

10. THANET

School

St Joseph's Catholic Primary School, Broadstairs The Ellington and Hereson School

Appointee

Mr A McGee Mr M Whearlty-Ward

11. TONBRIDGE AND MALLING

School

St Stephen's Primary School

Appointee

Mr M Heaton

12. TUNBRIDGE WELLS

School

Colliers Green CE Primary School St Mark's CE Primary School

Appointee

Mr R Speller Mr D Hill

13. PUPIL REFERRAL UNITS

14. PROPOSED FEDERATIONS

15. POOL OF ADDITIONAL GOVERNORS

16. NOMINATIONS TO ACADEMIES

AcademyMolehill Copse Primary Academy

Nominee Mrs E Purvis This page is intentionally left blank